bicyclecommuter.net


Kona Smoke First Ride

010220081484
Originally uploaded by craigdurkee

Well it was time to take the Kona Smoke out on her first run. I decided that a quick 20km or so ride up the Bike Track just down the road was the order of the day. Dressed in just a pair of shorts and tshirt I decided that proper bike gear was not going to be necessary for some reason. I was right the bike is so comfy and nice to ride, I didn’t even notice that I was hardly dressed for the occasion, even the things on my feet were great on those big chunky platform pedals that came with the bike…. Awesome.

The ride was pretty uneventful but also very enjoyable, we took our time lapped up the sights and sounds it was great.

After lunch then I had a few jobs to do such as popping to do the laundry and take some DVD’s back to Blockbuster. I loaded up the rear pannier with the clothes and off i went, its around 3k to the DVD store and then around another 6 or so to the laundry so again another very enjoyable ride with some magazine reading whilst waiting for the laundry.


010220081484
Originally uploaded by craigdurkee

I have to say riding this big tank around you get a feeling of never being in a rush, just enjoying ambling around the city with no cares in the world… I love it…

I’m beginning to also think that with a few upgrades this bike would make a fine tourer, the frame itself is solid enough for sure and if the components over time were upgraded I would have no hesitation in taking this little puppy on a multiday tour for sure. If the tour was close to civilisation I would probably be happy to do it straight off.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Shorts and a T-Shirt? Lucky. I’m looking forward to those days!

We have a few single speed cruisers. Some are even in the 40 lb range. It’s useless to try and go fast on them. They’re great for social rides, and seeing stuff at a slower pace. It’s amazing what you see when you’re not in a hurry!

Comment by Jeff

hi
dl272gnqkbv1xsmt
good luck

Comment by Freddy Cunningham




Leave a Reply

