bicyclecommuter.net


Tour de Dandenongs Part 2
December 31, 2007, 4:45 am
Filed under: cycling | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Its been a while since I have really been out on the bike or even had time to really use the net or write on the blog this last few weeks due to internet problems and a family loss that caused us alot of pain and heart ache.

However I am pleased to say that today in 41 degree Melbourne heat I went for a ride.

It was another day tour around the Dandenong Range’s East of Melbourne. Setting out for a nice day I headed up Burwood Highway for 20km or so and then couldnt resist having a peak on the new Eastlink Freeway that is almost complete, seeing as there was no work today for the guys I rode the bike up and had the whole freeway to myself as cars are not allowed on as yet and neither was I really. It was a bit like a scene from a movie, you know the ones when the world is empty, really weird feeling.

eastlink

eastlink

Then I cut across onto Mountain Highway and headed up the 1in20 climb into Sassafras this is a pretty famous climb in the area, personally I cant see what all the fuss is about, its only 6 or so km long and not very steep.

After a quick rest at the top it was on to Olinda, then towards Monbulk and then onto the resovoir around 15km from Olinda. Weirdly the gates to the park were all closed weird seeing as it was such a nice day but I rested at the gates and was not looking forward to the huge climb back upto the main road.

self portrait ay resovoir

After the climb back to the road it was then another 15km or so to Lillydale so off I went. As I came into MT Evelyn I crossed the path and got onto the Warburton Trial, right near the cogs cafe, a well known bike cafe but they were closed.

cogs
Then headed into the town on Lillydale.

Stopping for a twix and a Milkshake which was much needed at this point I can tell you, it was then onto Ringwood.

The 25 k from Ringwood was tough as temps where now soaring and I really wanted to get home. All in all a real nice solo day tour just over 100km for the day so no distance records but considering the heat I did well Love it..

You can see all the flickr pics here

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Arrgh! I wish I’d thought of going for a ride on Eastlink! That must have been pretty cool. I suppose the construction work has resumed now and there’s no chance of a repeat…

Comment by Treadly and Me

Road & Track Cycling at London Olympics 2012

Comment by Arun




Leave a Reply

