bicyclecommuter.net


Bicycle accident advice
October 6, 2006, 8:22 am
Filed under: bicycle commute, cycling

As some of you guys alreadyknow I suffered a serious accidentin Aug this year, having been knocked off my bike by a Toyota Camry.  I got knocked flying suffereing various broken bones and fractures.

I have had very little help or contact from the party that hit me and it now comes to light that he has given me false details, im sure the police will get to the  bottom of it but it doesnt help me in the interim.

So the rules are :-

Always ask for photographic ID from the other party

Always take a photograph of the car registration (easy with photo mobiles thesedays)

Always check the Phone number that they suply there and then.

I appreciate that in a serious accident the above may not be possible but whener you can try and stick to these rules.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dude – that is terrible. I hope you’re doing okay.
I (knock on wood) have only been hit once, and it was a lovetap. And the guy who hit me was totally nice and more freaked out than I was.

Anyway… hope the rehab goes well, hope your bike is okay, hope your “assailant” gets what is coming to him.

Comment by Tuco

Just on the Rego. Cars could have stolen number plates so it pays to check the Rego Sticker to see that it matches the plates.

Good luck with the recovery of injury and funds.

Comment by Phantom

That really sucks. Kind of puts all the abusive drivers ranting about the hellride in a different light.

I hope you make a good recovery.

Comment by Crowlie




Leave a Reply

